Spring into Jute: Crochet crossbody bag

Spring time is here! Well says the calendar, but it’s soooo cold outside. While waiting on the weather to heat up, let’s bring Spring into our lives with this completely FREE detailed pattern below.

Not only is this pattern free and i believed super detailed for a beginner, it’s also a quick project. It’s just two circles, a zipper, and some crochet flowers. Easy peasy right?

Let’s get into it!

All you need is:
8mm Crochet hook
Roll of 3ply Jute
2 sheets of felt
7 inch zipper
Couple different colors of yarn ( I used Lily Sugar&Cream cotton yarn and varied colors)
2 pieces of plastic canvas
Yarn needle
Sewing needle & thread

I’ve had 2ply, 3ply, and 4ply Jute in my possession about 6 months now. I use all 3 in this project but it’s optional, the 3ply Jute is the star. I always thought I’d make a rug out of it, but a cute cross-body is better!

Crochet terms:
MR= Magic Ring
HDC= Half double crochet (US)
BLO= Back loop only
SS= Slip Stitch
CH= Chain

Make 2
Magic ring
R1: 10 HDC into MR (10 HDC)
*SS into first HDC, CH 1
R2: 2 HDC in the same stitch, 2 HDC in each stitch around (20 HDC)
*SS into first HDC, CH 1 (*this is repeated at the beginning of each round)
R3: 1 HDC in the same stitch, 2 HDC in the next (1 HDC, 2 HDC) repeat around (30 HDC)
*
R4: 1 HDC in the same stitch, 1 HDC in the next, 2 HDC in the next(1 HDC, 1 HDC, 2 HDC) repeat around (40)
*
R5: 1 HDC in the same stitch, 1 HDC in the next 2 stitches, 2 HDC in the next (1 HDC, 1 HDC, 1HDC, 2 HDC) repeat around (50)
SS to Join (don’t tie off, just pull up a loop until later)

jutepart1.png

Make some flowers and leaves! All optional of course, keep the bag plain! It’s still a super cute look. Add store bought appliqes, bascially do what you want!

All the flowers and leaves I made were from random memory lol. But here’s links to the blogs I scoped for FREE flower and leaf patterns. Get creative use multi yarns and colors. I used all Lily Sugar ‘n Cream yarn in Red, Country Red for the roses; Hot Green, Sage, Mod Green for the leaves, and Ecru for the stitching.

roses.png

Rose
Rose
Multiple Flowers
Leaf
Leaves

Next step

Refer to image below: Lay your jute circle flat with plastic canvas on top, trace circle. (With the circle canvas it’s easy to eye, but if you happen to have square canvas tracing is important.)

canvas

Place canvas on felt and trace, cut OUTSIDE of the circle. (remember make two of each!)

felt

This step it may seem like you can skip it but I did it both ways, and trust me you’ll want to sew down the plastic canvas down first. So your circle is nice and tight with zero puffing! I used a yarn needle and cotton yarn.

stitchdown

Next place the felt on top with the same needle and yarn, stitch through loop showed below. (I did 1 stitch per loop)

feltstitchdown

You can attached your flowers however you want, but this is how I attached mine. Through the canvas than covered with the felt.

flwerdown

Back to crocheting!
Rnd 6: BLO 50 HDC around, SS to join, TO (tie off)

Remember do both circles!

Now hopefully we all have a tiny bit of sewing skills, ALL you need is a tiny bit I promise!
Pin zipper to bag (17 HDC is how much space my zipper took up)

I used the 2ply jute to sew my bag together, You can use the 3ply as well.

I wrapped the 4ply jute around my bag 4 times to measure a long rope (3 times for 3 pieces) to braid a strap. Be created with the strap, it doesn’t have to be a braid, just the easiest!
Braid, Pull through bag (about 2 HDC down from the zipper) Tie a knot on the inside (super tight knot) Cut remaining jute, pull to make sure its snug!

Bam you’re done! Seriously how easy? How cute? How quick?
you can make so many of these for your friends in family before we actually start to fell Spring.

blogpics.png

Hope you enjoyed….Follow me on social media for the latest updates.

-Roe

Leave a comment